How to manage shared contacts with ContactBook

24 January, 2019

How to manage shared contacts with ContactBook

This post aims at explaining the work-flow of the application. We will cover how to install the application and how to get started with the application.

How to install ContactBook

  • Visit G Suite Marketplace, and install ContactBook Domain-wide. (To Install ContactBook, you should be the Admin of your G Suite organization or you can ask your admin to install it)
  • Login to ContactBook from the website homepage login on the top right OR from this URL: web.contactbook.app and login with your G Suite Admin account for the first time(after that any user can login to access the app)
  • If you have successfully installed the app, you will see our app interface.
    If you face any issues, feel free to connect with us at support@contactbook.app

How to use ContactBook

You need to follow the two steps procedure to use ContactBook:

Create and Manage Contacts and Labels(Groups) in Google Contacts

ContactBook lets you share Google Contact's labels and their contacts with your domain users. So first step is to create and manage your contacts in different labels on Google Contacts.

For ex. if you want contacts of your leads to be shared with Sales team, you can create a label called Sales Team and add all leads contacts to that.

Click here to go to Google Contacts.

Manage Contacts and Labels in Google Contacts

Create Labels and go to contacts to manage labels for them. You can have multiple contacts in a single label as well as single contact can have multiple labels. Organise it according to your needs.

Share Labels with Domain users via ContactBook application

Login to ContactBook as suggested in installation part and click on Sync button. It will get all the labels and their contacts from Google Contacts to ContactBook app. It will take few minutes or hours based on number of contacts and labels your account has. You will be notified once sync is completed. If you are an admin you can also check the status from History menu under your profile.

Once sync is done, you will see all your labels and contacts under them. You will then be able to share those labels with your domain users.

Share Labels with Domain users in ContactBook

In order to share a label with domain user, you just simply have to click on that label and then click on Share with Users Button. You will be prompt to select users and set permission.

Shared Contacts in Gmail

View permission will let user only view the contacts associated with that label. They can still modify users on Google Contacts but those changes will not reflect on our app upon sync.
Edit permission will let user to add/edit/delete contact from label. They can make changes on Google Contacts which will be updated on our app when they sync. This update will reflected on all the shared users' google contacts. Edit access users can not modify/delete labels.

Shared Contacts in Gmail


NOTE: To begin with, we request you to test the platform by creating dummy labels and add dummy contacts on Google Contact and sync from ContactBook and share with 1-2 users with View permission to check if everything is reflected as per expected.

As we are still improving the product, so please take care of the following points:

  • Always sync your data in ContactBook right after updating it in Google Contact
  • To get consistent data, do not perform any action while syncing data
  • Contact Count may show wrong numbers

Soon you will be able to manage contacts and labels from ContactBook interface. You do not need switch between Google Contacts and ContactBook. We are working on that part and will update you once we rollout the feature.

We are constantly working toward smooth app experience for you. Let us know if you have any feedback/suggestions in the comment section or write us at support@contactbook.app

Subscribe to ContactBook

Make the most out of G Suite! Get productivity tips and tricks delivered straight to your inbox